

DEPARTMENT OF BIOMEDICAL ENGINEERING EDMUND A. HAJIM SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING AND APPLIED SCIENCES UNIVERSITY OF ROCHESTER

# BME Graduation Ceremony

CLASS OF 2023



MAY 13, 2023 | 9:00 AM HUBBELL AUDITORIUM

#### **PROCESSIONAL**

Trumpet Voluntary, Jeremiah Clarke

## WELCOME FROM THE BME DEPARTMENT CHAIR

Professor Stephen McAleavey

#### CONGRATULATIONS FROM THE DEAN

Dean Wendi Heinzelman Dean, Hajim School of Engineering & Applied Sciences

#### **VIDEO ADDRESS**

Edmund A. Hajim Chairman Emeritus, UR Board of Trustees Chairman, HighVista Strategies LLC

## **BME GRADUATE STUDIES**

Professor Mark Buckley

## PRESENTATION OF THE DOCTORAL CANDIDATES

Professor Diane Dalecki

# PRESENTATION OF THE MASTER'S CANDIDATES

**Professor Laurel Carney** 



Professor Greg Gdowski

#### PRESENTATION OF THE CMTI MASTER'S CANDIDATES

Professor Amy Lerner

#### **BME UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES**

Professor Edward Brown

# PRESENTATION OF THE BACHELOR'S CANDIDATES

Professor Scott Seidman

## **CLOSING REMARKS**

Professor Stephen McAleavey

### RECESSIONAL

Second Suite in F – Gustav Holst English Folk Song Suite – Ralph Vaughn Williams

After the ceremony, students and their guests, along with faculty and staff, are invited to the Hajim Tent for refreshments. BME Senior Design and CMTI design project posters will be on display throughout the morning on the 2nd and 3rd floor of Goergen Hall.



DONALD M. BARNARD PRIZE

Anna Hazelwood, Mitchell Kershner & Phuong Le

LISA NORWOOD STUDENT INVOLVEMENT PRIZE Zaynab Dantsoho

RICHARD EISENBERG ENGINEERING AWARD Katherine Broun

NATIONAL ACADEMY OF ENGINEERING GRAND CHALLENGES SCHOLARS
Abbey Kampel & Maysoon Harunani

NSF GRADUATE RESEARCH FELLOWSHIP
Abbey Kampel

PROJECTS FOR PEACE AWARD

Miguel Armistice Yakouma

BME FACULTY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE IN UNDERGRADUATE RESEARCH
Anna Hazelwood

BME FACULTY AWARD FOR UNDERGRADUATE SERVICE Katia Iliza

BME FACULTY AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE AS A TEACHING ASSISTANT Katherine Broun

BME OUTSTANDING SENIOR
Sameer Jain

BME OUTSTANDING JUNIOR

Aasim Hawa, Diana Karosas & Audrey Yu