Humanities/Social Science Credit Hours

Clusters are sets of related courses. A cluster contains a minimum of twelve credits of coursework, which is equivalent, in most cases, to three courses. An approved cluster in the CHE department falls within two of the academic divisions: Humanities, Social Sciences. An additional 8 credits, which is equivalent, in most cases, to two courses, are required in the opposite division of the chosen cluster.

	Example:	
12 credits in the Humanities division + 8 credits in the Social Science division	<u>OR</u>	12 credits in the Social Science division + 8 credits in the Humanities division

Humanities Division consists of:

- American Sign Langauge
- Art History
- Studio Arts
- Dance
- English
- Film & Media Studies
- Interdepartmental
- Judaic Studies

- Modern Languages – Comparative Literature, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Modern Languages and Cultures, Polish, Romanian, Russian, Spanish

- Music
- Philosophy
- Religion and Classics
- Russian Studies
- Theatre—See English
- Women's Studies

• Social Sciences Division consists of:

- African and African-American Studies
- Anthropology
- Clinical and Social Sciences in Psychology
- Cognitive Science
- Economics
- Health and Society
- History
- Interdepartmental
- Linguistics
- Political Science
- Russian Studies
- Sociology
- Women's Studies

Visit: http://www.rochester.edu/college/CCAS/clusters/cluster_search7.html