Skip to main content

News & Events

2017 Student Awards

six collage

Left to right, top to bottom: David Lippman visits the BMW museum in Munich during his summer internship with Arnold & Richter Cine Technik (ARRI) in that city; Wendy Snyder pilots Hercules, a Roving Operational Vehicle, from aboard the Nautilus, a sea-going exploration ship; Matthew Dylewsky demonstrates an ambisonic microphone; Catherine Yip applies finishing touches to her team’s senior design project; Ibrahim Mohammad works in the laboratory as a Xerox Research fellow; and Haberly Kahn patrols the outfield for the varsity softball team.

Hajim School

The Charles L. Newton Prize — recognizing engineering students who show a special proficiency in an engineering subject and have conducted research, given a presentation or published a paper — is awarded to William Green of mechanical engineering.

The Donald M. Barnard Prize — awarded to junior or senior engineering students on the basis of personal qualification and achievement — goes to Melissa Becker of chemical engineering, S. Yvonne Bodell of optics, Christina Engler of chemical engineering, Nicholas Graham of electrical and computer engineering, Raymond Lopez-Rios of optics, Justin Schumacher of biomedical engineering, Karan Vombatkere of electrical and computer engineering, and Runxuan Zhao of biomedical engineering..

The Richard Eisenberg Engineering Award — which recognizes hard-working undergraduates with an interest in metallurgy — is presented to Rahima Bah of chemical engineering.

The Robert L. Wells Prize — presented to senior engineering students for demonstrated competence in both engineering and the humanities, based on the highest-ranking seniors in the Hajim School as of the fall of their senior year — is awarded to Wendy Snyder of mechanical engineering and Joyce Zhu of computer science.

.The Tau Beta Pi Prize — for Tau Beta Pi seniors who, through academic achievement, proven leadership and sterling character, have excelled and inspired fellow students — is awarded to Jessica Bernstein of optics.

The G. Harold Hook Prize — presented to a student who has demonstrated outstanding interest in engineering — is awarded to Edward Ruppel III of biomedical engineering.

Biomedical Engineering

Faculty Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Research: Breanna O'Reilly, Edward Ruppel III

Faculty Award for Teaching Assistant: Madeline Cappelloni

Faculty Award for Undergraduate Service: Janet Sorrells

Outstanding Senior: Justin Schumacher

Outstanding Junior: Tianyu Wu

Chemical Engineering

The Shelby A. Miller Prize: Melissa Becker, Samyukta Chakravarthy, Christina Engler, Dominick Salerno, Michaela Wentz.
(Given to the seniors who submitted the best process design project.)

Donald F. Othmer Sophomore Academic Excellence Award: Janson Ho.
(For the junior who compiled the highest scholastic average in the first two years of study.)

Albert K. Ackoff Award: Haberly Kahn, Unni Kurumbail.
(For the third year student, based on grades through the fall the junior year.)

The American Chemical Society Chemistry Achievement Award: Laurence Lohman.
(For the senior with an outstanding academic record who has done excellent work on a research project or independent study in applied chemistry.)


Award for Outstanding Teaching Assistant:  Mikayla Konst
(Given to a student who has provided outstanding support to professors as a teaching assistant, workshop leader and/or super leader during his or her undergraduate career.)

Excellence in Undergraduate Research: Chuyang Ke, Yiheng Zhou, Joyce Zhu
(Given to a student who has worked with an advisor on significant research, received awards or presented at conferences, or been published as a result of his or her work.)

 Entrepreneurship Award: Anis Kallel
(Given to a student who has embodied the entrepreneurial spirit by creating a computing product or service and pursued its commercial development.)

 UR Women in Computing Leadership Award: Euakarn Som Liengtiraphan
(Given to a woman who has made a significant contribution to leadership, to the design of programs and activities that build a stronger community in CSC, and to a level of service and a creative enthusiasm for UR WiC.)

MVP (Most Valuable Programmer): Daniel Rubery
(This student has been a valued member of various programming teams, such as the Association for Computing Machinery — ICPC team and the CS Games team, strengthening URCS' visibility among top schools.

 Outstanding Senior:  J. Hassler Thurston
(Given to a student who has made outstanding contributions to the Department and its undergraduate program in academics, research, and student leadership, and who has gained the respect and appreciation of the Department community.)

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Faculty Prize: Matthew Dylewsky, Rebecca Gillie, Rebecca VanDyke.

Mechanical Engineering

Emil L. Kuichling Award: Alexander Boyd, Rebecca Walton
(To the junior who has shown the greatest proficiency in mechanics.)

Helmut Weymann Prize: Ibrahim Mohammad
(For outstanding insight, ingenuity and skill in engineering experimentation.)

Outstanding Senior Award: Elizabeth Fox, Wendy Snyder, So Han Florence Yip
(Recognizes the graduating senior with outstanding aptitude and ability in all aspects of engineering.)

Teaching Service Award: Alan Grier, Catherine Yip
(For outstanding contributions to instruction in the department during this academic year.)

Rochester Section, American Society of Mechanical Engineers Award: Anne Peterson
(For academic excellence and outstanding contributions to the student section of ASME.)


H.D. Polster Prize: Jessica Bernstein
(Awarded to a senior who has demonstrated through academic performance or a special project, unusual ability in the field of optics.)

Faculty Prize: Sarah Bjornland, Joel Hoose
(Awarded to a senior who best exemplifies the ideals of character, scholarship, and service.)

Fujimara Prize: Jaren Ashcraft
(Awarded to a sophomore who represents The Institute’s values of academic excellence, research, and campus citizenship.)

Britton Award: Erin Sumfleth
(Awarded to a freshman who has excelled academically and, through his or her actions, demonstrates a keen interest in Optics.)

Sommargren Research Award: David Lippman
(Awarded to a deserving undergraduate studying the field of optics.)

Dr. Kevin Thompson Prize: Brandon Dube
(Awarded to a student who demonstrates a keen interest in optical design and/or metrology.)