News & Events

Optics students receive many awards

December 1, 2012

At its annual student Holiday party, the department had many reasons to acknowledge some of the outstanding achievements by our Optics students. Here is a probably incomplete list, but definitely worth mentioning: 

  • Wei JiangMehul Malik and Robin Sharma each received a Emil Wolf Outstanding student paper award, that is 3 of the announced 7 awards were won by Institute of Optics students
  • Peter McCarthy is the recipient of the Harvey M. Pollicove Memorial Scholarship
  • Mehul Maiik will be working with Anton Zeilinger in Vienna, Austria as a recipient of the Marie Curie International Incoming Fellowship
  • Ram Kumar Sabesan's dissertation was selected for submission to APS Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Research in Atomic, Molecular or Optical Award
  • James Corsetti received the Best TA of the Year award


Way to go!!