News & Events

Three Optics students win optical design competition

August 9, 2013

The Synopsys corporation announced that graduate students Matthew Bergkoetter (working in Prof. James R. Fienup's group), James Corsetti (working in Prof. Duncan T. Moore's group), and undergraduate student Jonathan Papa won three of the four prizes for the 2013 Robert S. Hilbert Memorial Optical Design Competition, winning $1,000.00 each. Matt's and Jonathan's projects were part of Prof. Julie Bentley's "Lens Design" class. James' design was based on his current research, assisted by Julie.

Previous winners from the Institute of Optics were:
Matthew Bolcar and Chris Supranowitz, 2004
Yijing Fu, 2006
Manuel Guizar-Sicairos, 2007
Xinye Lou, 2008
Yuhong Yao, 2009
Kyle Fuerschbach and Ying Geng, 2010
Bin Ma and Dustin Moore, 2011
Brett Sternfield and Anthony Visconti, 2012

For details, see