Optics Undergraduate Awards 2016

April 20, 2016

The Undergraduate Committee has awarded the 2016 prizes to outstanding students in the Institute of Optics.

Fujimara Prize: Kameron Tinkham
Awarded to a sophomore who represents The Institute’s values of academic excellence, research, and campus citizenship.

Britton Award: Max Bruggeman
Awarded to a freshman that has excelled academically and, through his or her actions, demonstrates a keen interest in Optics.

Optics Faculty Prize: Julia Kent and Lindsey Willstatter
Awarded to a senior who best exemplifies the ideals of character, scholarship, and service.

H.D. Polster Prize: Alex Anderson
Awarded to a senior who has demonstrated through academic performance or a special project, unusual ability in the field of optics.

Sommargren Research Award: Zirui Zang
Awarded to a deserving undergraduate studying the field of optics.

Donald M. Barnard Prize: Jiashi “Maggie” Han
Awarded to a senior who: is majoring in engineering, has been accepted into one of the University of Rochester’s masters programs, and shows personal achievement as well as good personal qualities.

The G. Harold Hook Prize:  Sean Reid
Awarded to the student who has demonstrated an above average interest in engineering. Academic standing need not be considered. Special consideration will be given to financial need.

Charles L. Newton Prize: Pedro Vallejo-Ramirez of the Institute of Optics and Andrew Stern of  Electrical and Computer Engineering
Awarded to a student in HSEAS who shows special proficiency in some subject connected with engineering, and who has conducted research, given a presentation, or published a paper.