Skip to main content

Undergraduate Program

Undergraduate Awards

Institute of Optics Undergraduate Award Descriptions

Fujimara Prize: Awarded to a sophomore who represents The Institute’s values of academic excellence, research, and campus citizenship.

2018 winner: Jocelyn Smith

Kevin Thompson Prize: Awarded to a student who demonstrates a keen interest in optical design and/or

2018 winner: Xiaojing Huang

Britton Award: Awarded to a first-year undergraduate who has excelled academically and, through his or her actions, demonstrates a keen interest in Optics.

2018 winner: Cherine Ghazouani

Optics Faculty Prize: Awarded to a senior who best exemplifies the ideals of character, scholarship, and service.

2018 winner: Kaia Williams

H.D. Polster Prize: Awarded to a senior who has demonstrated through academic performance or a special project, unusual ability in the field of optics.

2018 winner: David Lippman

Sommargren Research Award: Awarded to a deserving undergraduate studying the field of optics.

2018 winner: Jonathan Dietz

Donald M. Barnard Prize: Awarded to a senior who: is majoring in engineering, has been accepted into one of the University of Rochester’s masters programs, and shows personal achievement as well as good personal qualities.

2018 winners: Nora Lane and Jordan Rabinowitz

G. Harold Hook Prize: Awarded to the student who has demonstrated an above average interest in engineering. Academic standing need not be considered. Special consideration will be given to financial need.

Charles L. Newton Prize: Awarded to a student in HSEAS who shows special proficiency in some subject connected with engineering, and who has conducted research, given a presentation, or published a paper.

Tau Beta Pi Prize: Awarded to Tau Beta Pi seniors who, through academic achievement, proven leadership and sterling character, have excelled and inspired fellow students.