Distinguished Scholar Award

The Distinguished Scholar Award recognizes doctoral alumni who have led distinguished careers in academia, private enterprise, public service and the arts. The Provost selects one or more recipients of this award annually from nominations put forward by the University community. It is presented at the University doctoral commencement ceremony.

The following University of Rochester engineering alumni have received this award:

2019: Donna Strickland, PhD, Optics, 1989

2015: Stephen Fantone, PhD, Optics, 1979

2008: Charles R. Munnerlyn, PhD, Optical Engineering, 1969

2006: Amit Goyal, PhD, Engineering, 1991

1995: Robert Potter, PhD, Optics, 1960