Skip to main content

Academics

STEM Gems: Faculty advisors

Audio & Music Engineering (AME) /
Electrical & Computer Engineering (ECE)

Mark Bocko
Hopeman Hall 333
mark.bocko@rochester.edu 
(585) 275-4879

Paul Ampadu
Computer Science Bldg 417
paul.ampadu@rochester.edu 
(585) 273-5753

Biomedical Engineering (BME)

Stephen McAleavey
Goergen Hall 309
stephen.mcaleavey@rochester.edu 
(585) 275-7768

Chemical Engineering (CHE)

Dave G. Foster
Gavett Hall 201A
David.foster@rochester.edu 
(585) 276-5350

Computer Science (CSC)

Lane Hemaspaandra
Computer Science Bldg 618
Lane.Hemaspaandra@rochester.edu 
(585) 275-8854

Engineering Science (ES)

Nick Valentino
Lattimore Hall 301A
Nicholas.valentino@rochester.edu 
(585) 276-7802

Mechanical Engineering (ME)

Jon Ellis
Hopeman Hall 215
j.d.ellis@rochester.edu 
(585) 275-4950

Optics/Optical Engineering (OPT/OPE)

Miguel Alonso
Wilmot Hall 215
Miguel.Alonso@rochester.edu 
(585) 275-7227

“Sound design is one of the coolest things I have ever learned about,” said Stephanie Roman, who, with classmate Renjin Zhao, created a spooky Halloween Haunted House sound bite for AME193. They created all the sounds from scratch – flapping a keyboard cover really fast, for example, to create the sound of bats flying through the air.

Read More >