Skip to main content

Colloquia

2017 Colloquia Archives

 

Nanophotonics in Systems of Large Sizes

Dr. Bo Zhen, Physics Department and Research Laboratory of Electronics, MIT, Physics Department and Solid State Institute, Technion

Wednesday, January 4, 2017
10:00 a.m.
Goergen Hall, Room 101

Learn More...


Quantum entanglement for precision sensing with atoms and light

Dr. Onur Hosten, Department of Physics, Stanford University

Monday, January 9, 2017
10:00 a.m.
Goergen Hall, Room 101

Learn More...


2D Spectroscopy of 2D Materials: Deciphering the Quasiparticle Zoo in Atomically Thin Semiconductors

Dr. Galan Moody, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Wednesday, January 11, 2017
10:00 a.m.
Goergen Hall, Room 101

Learn More...


From photon correlation Fourier spectroscopy to surface plasmon lasers: fundamental studies and applications of colloidal quantum dots

Dr. Jian Cui, ETH Zurich

Monday, January 16, 2017
10:00 a.m.
Goergen Hall, Room 101

Learn More...


Sub-Cycle Terahertz Microscopy on the Atomic Scale

Dr. Tyler Cocker, University of Regensberg, Germany

Wednesday, January 18, 2017
2:00 p.m.
Goergen Hall, Room 109

Learn More...


Novel Material Platforms for Metasurfaces and Metaphotonic Devices

Dr. Viktoriia Babicheva, Georgia State University

Monday, January 23, 2017
3:30 p.m.
Goergen Hall, Room 101

Learn More...


The New Graduate Student Focus: Paying Estimated Taxes

Dr. Jennifer Kruschwitz, The Institute of Optics

Monday, April 3, 2017
3:30 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


How does a 50% beam combiner behave as a 0 to 100% reflector/transmitter inside an MZ interferometer?

Dr. ChandraSekhar Roychoudhuri, Physics Department, University of Connecticut

Monday, April 10, 2017
3:30 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Optical Tools for Unraveling Whole-brain Neuronal Circuit Dynamics Underlying Behavior: From Retina to the Cortex

Dr. Alipasha Vaziri, The Rockefeller University

Monday, April 24, 2017
3:30 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Improving the Resolution of Diffraction Microscopy Using Numerical Reconstructions

Dr. Anne Sentenac, Institut Fresnel, France

Monday, May 1, 2017
3:30 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Publishing with Nature Communications

Dr. Zachary Lapin, Associate Editor, Nature Communications

Monday, May 15, 2017
3:30 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Synthetic Optical Holography

Dr. P. Scott Carney, Institute of Optics

Monday, September 11, 2017
3:00 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Exploiting Strong Physical Interactions in Silicon Photonics for Security, Non-traditional Computing, and Quantum Communications

Dr. Amy Foster, Johns Hopkins University

Monday, September 25, 2017
3:00 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


The Tangled Web: Quantum Entanglement and its Applications

Dr. Daniel James, University of Toronto

Monday, October 2, 2017
3:00 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Measuring and Modeling the Polarization of Light Scattered from Surfaces

Dr. Thomas A. Germer, Sensor Science Division, NIST

Tuesday, October 3, 2017
1:30 p.m.
Wilmot Building, Fifth Floor Collaboratory

Learn More...


Spatiotemporal Dynamics of Optical Pulse Propagation in Multimode Fibers

Dr. Frank Wise, Department of Applied Physics at Cornell University

Monday, October 23, 2017
3:00 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Noninvasive Vision Correction: 20/20 by 2020

Dr. Wayne Knox, Institute of Optics

Monday, October 30, 2017
3:00 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Quantum Computing in the Trapped Ion Playground

Dr. Kristin Beck, University of Maryland

Monday, November 6, 2017
3:00 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


IR and THz nanospectroscopy – An emerging analytical tool for science and technology

Dr. Rainer Hillenbrand, Nanogune

Monday, November 27, 2017
3:00 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Broader Impacts: Research, Technology and Entrepreneurial Mindset

Michael Riedlinger, University of Rochester

Monday, December 4, 2017
3:00 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...