Skip to main content

Colloquia

2019 Colloquia Archives

 

Nanophotonics: fundamental aspects and energy applications

Dr. Shanhui Fan, Stanford University

Thursday, January 24, 2019
4 p.m.
B&L 109

Learn More...


Integrated Photonics: Classical to Quantum

Dr. Stefan Preble, Rochester Institute of Technology

Monday, February 11, 2019
3:30 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Single and Two-photon Quantum Optics with Cavities, Emitters and Waveguides

Dr. Imran Mirza, Miami University of Ohio

Monday, February 18, 2019
3:30 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Optofluidic Smart Glass for optically-configurable building envelopes and smart windows

Dr. Keith W. Goossen, University of Delaware

Monday, February 25, 2019
3:30 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Micro-and Nanoplastics: They are in our drinking water, our beer, in our seafood, and everywhere

Dr. Wayne Knox, University of Rochester

Monday, March 4, 2019
3:30 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Achieving Ultra-High Energy Density in On-Chip Photonic Resonators

Dr. Sharon Weiss, Vanderbilt University

Monday, March 18, 2019
3:30 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Mode-locked Thulium Fiber Laser Dynamics

Dr. Michelle Sander, Boston University

Monday, March 25, 2019
3:30 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


The Future of AI in Optical Design

Dr. David Shafer, David Shafer Optical Design

Monday, April 1, 2019
3:30 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Ultra-Stable Photonic Integrated Sub-Hz Fundamental Linewidth Brillouin Lasers and Their Applications

Dr. Dan Blumenthal, University of California at Santa Barbara

Monday, April 8, 2019
3:30 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Flying on a Rainbow — Diffractive Solar Sails

Dr. Grover Swartzlander, Rochester Institute of Technology

Monday, April 22, 2019
3:30 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


NASA Astrophysics and the Competitive Process

Dr. Mario Perez, NASA Astrophysics Division

Monday, April 29, 2019
3:30 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Color and Object Appearance in Augmented Reality

Dr. Michael Murdoch, Color Science Laboratory, Rochester Institute of Technology

Monday, September 9, 2019
3 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Bio-architecture: from protective biocrystals to patterned biomaterials

Dr. Anne Meyer, Department of Biology, University of Rochester

Monday, September 23, 2019
3 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Searching for gravitational waves and dark matter using optomechanical systems

Dr. Swati Singh, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Delaware

Monday, September 30, 2019
3 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Epsilon (and mu) Near Zero Materials – Photonics on Steroids?

Dr. Jacob Khurgin, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Johns Hopkins University

Thursday, October 24, 2019
4 p.m.
Bausch and Lomb 109

Learn More...


Space-Time Duality in Optics and its Applications

Dr. Govind Agrawal, The Institute of Optics, University of Rochester

Monday, October 28, 2019
3 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Measuring Everything You've Always Wanted to Know About a Light Pulse

Dr. Rick Trebino, School of Physics, Georgia Institute of Technology

Monday, November 4, 2019
3 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Optical thermodynamics of nonlinear highly multimode systems

Prof. Demetrios Christodoulides, CREOL, University of Central Florida

Monday, November 11, 2019
3 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


From Extreme Materials to the Brain: Computational Imaging Systems for Measurement-Limited Applications

Prof. Mark Foster, Johns Hopkins University, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Monday, November 25, 2019
3 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...


Laser-driven compression experiments to unravel complex material behavior at extremes: the discovery of superionic water ice

Dr. Federica Coppari, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Monday, December 2, 2019
3 p.m.
Goergen 101

Learn More...