Skip to main content

News & Events

2018 News Archive


Tang Awarded the NEC 2018 C&C Prize

October 12, 2018

The NEC C&C Foundation today announced that the 2018 C&C Prize will be awarded to Professor Ching Tang for his contributions to quantum annealing and to research into random spin systems which underlie the fundamental mechanism enabling the development of quantum annealing machines, and to discovery and pioneering development of thin-film organic light-emitting devices. He will be recognized with a certificate of merit and a plaque. Tang will also receive a cash award.


Professor White Wins Prestigious NSF CAREER Award

August 10, 2018

The chemical engineering department is pleased to announce that Assistant Professor Andrew White has received a prestigious National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER award to study the science of self-assembly through molecular simulation. The NSF CAREER award provides $500,000 of support over five years for research and outreach for Prof. White and his graduate students.  This funding will help develop a long-term research program at the University of Rochester on molecular simulation for both understanding how molecules interact and to design novel materials via computer-aided design. The selection of Prof. White was determined on the basis of both his research proposal to study self-assembly of peptides and a creative outreach plan to better educate the local Rochester K-12  students on the connection between the molecular structure of materials and their properties.


Announcement of Professor Anthamatten’s appointment as chemical engineering chair

July 6, 2018

Mitch AnthamattenAfter consulting with Chemical Engineering faculty, Wendi Heinzelman, Dean of the Hajim School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, has appointed Professor Mitchell Anthamatten as the next department chair effective July 1, 2018. Anthamatten commented, "I am extremely grateful and excited for the opportunity to serve such a talented group of faculty and to see our department's strategic plan unfold. With strong support from the Hajim School and Arts, Sciences and Engineering, we are innovating in sustainable process engineering, biotechnology, and advanced materials to address problems of national and global importance. By prioritizing outstanding research, we will offer rich and forward-looking educational experience to our students at all levels."


Chemical engineering faculty win awards to develop advanced materials for powerful lasers

May 21, 2018

Two University of Rochester chemical engineering faculty, Professors Shaw H. Chen and Mitchell Anthamatten have been awarded University Research Awards for a total of $136,000 to provide "seed" funding to develop optical materials for polarization control.


Professor Porosoff wins award to develop reverse water-gas shift catalysts

May 20, 2018

University of Rochester chemical engineering faculty member, Assistant Professor Marc D. Porosoff has been awarded a University Research Award for $60,000 to develop a novel technique for synthesizing nano-sized reverse water-gas shift (RWGS) catalysts.


A professor who puts students first

May 10, 2018

 Tenhaeff in his lab


Chem-E-Car team moves up in the pack

April 30, 2018

Students working on the car.A team of chemical engineering students from Rochester, in their second year building and competing with a vehicle powered only by chemical reactions, held their own against 20 other teams at this year’s American Institute of Chemical Engineers regional conference.


Augmented reality lets students operate a chemical plant

February 15, 2018

Students simulate chemical reactions as they would occur in a chemical plant using augmented reality.Coffee mugs and popsicle sticks are transformed into chemical reactors as part of an innovative teaching experiment that allows student engineers to simulate reactions in a real-life, sprawling chemical plant.


Ching Tang named to inventors hall of fame

January 29, 2018

Ching Tang, professor emeritus of chemical engineering at the University of Rochester, has been inducted into the National Inventors Hall of Fame for helping to pioneer the organic light-emitting diode, or OLED.