2006 News

Outstanding Student Paper Award - Christophe Bouvier, Ph.D. Student

February 14, 2006

Congratulations to our PhD student Christophe Bouvier for his Student Poster Competition award from the American Precision Optics Manufacturer's Association (APOMA). All the three awarded students were from the UR, and Christophe tied in the second place for the Outstanding Student Paper award for his "Prediction of the Depth of Cut For Tools Having a Finite Contact Path" poster.

Continue Reading

ASME Fellow - Stephen J. Burns, Ph.D., P.E.

January 2, 2006

An outstanding engineer, Stephen J. Burns is Chair of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Rochester. Teacher and researcher for 40 years, he is a recognized authority on materials and fracture mechanics publishing over 150 papers and articles. His contributions to materials engineering focus on the control of crack growth and fatigue crack propagation. With his students, he has pioneered the concepts of crack-tip shielding from plastic deformation; and his ideas are widely used to retard cracking in design. Professor Burns has consulted for many companies and presented seminars both in the US and abroad.

Continue Reading