Colloquia & Guest Speakers

Scalable semiconductor quantum and classical photonics

Dr. Jelena Vuckovic

Jensen Huang Professor in Global Leadership, School of Engineering, Professor of Electrical Engineering and by courtesy of Applied Physics, Stanford University

Fortinet Founders Chair, Department of Electrical Engineering Faculty member of Ginzton Lab, Q-FARM, PULSE, SIMES, SPRC, Wu-Tsai Neurosciences Institute, SystemX, Bio-X

PI of the Nanoscale and Quantum Photonics (NQP) Lab

Monday, October 18, 2021
3:30 p.m.–4:40 p.m.

Remote Zoom

Recorded Talk


Classical and quantum photonics with superior properties can be implemented in a variety of old (silicon, silicon nitride) and new (silicon carbide, diamond) photonic materials by combining state of the art optimization and machine learning techniques (photonics inverse design) with new fabrication approaches.  In addition to making photonics more robust to errors in fabrication and temperature, more compact, and more efficient, this approach is also crucial for enabling new photonics applications, such as on chip laser driven particle accelerators, and semiconductor quantum simulators.


Jelena Vukovick (PhD Caltech 2002) is the Jensen Huang Professor in Global Leadership in the School of Engineering, and Professor of Electrical Engineering and by courtesy of AppliedPhysics at Stanford, where she leads the Nanoscale and Quantum Photonics Lab. She is also the Fortinet Founders Chair of the electrical engineering department at Stanford, and was the inaugural director of Q-FARM, the Stanford-SLAC Quantum Science and Engineering Initiative. Vukovick; has received many awards including the James Gordon Memorial Speakership from the OSA (2020), the IET A. F. Harvey Engineering Research Prize (2019),Distinguished Scholar of the Max Planck Institute for Quantum Optics - MPQ (2019), HansFischer Senior Fellowship from the Institute for Advanced Studies in Munich (2013),Humboldt Prize (2010), DARPA Young Faculty Award (2008), and Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE in 2007). She is a Fellow of the AmericanPhysical Society (APS), of the Optical Society of America (OSA), and of the Institute of>Electronics and Electrical Engineers (IEEE).