Skip to main content

People

Secondary Faculty

 


A


Joan E. Adamo, Ph.D.

Adamo, Joan

Associate Director, Regulatory Support Services, CTSI
joan_adamo@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Regulatory Science; guidance for researchers who are planning studies regulated by the FDA

Ajay Anand

Anand, Ajay

Adjunct Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Technical Manager/System Engineer (Ultrasound) at Carestream Health, Inc
ajay.anand@carestream.com

Interests: Ultrasound signal processing; Model-based parameter estimation; Novel clinical ultrasound imaging techniques; Biomedical data analytics

B


Tim Baran

Baran, Tim

Research Assistant Professor of Imaging Sciences
Research Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering

timothy.baran@rochester.edu | (585) 275-5340
Website

Interests: Biomedical optics; photodynamic therapy; medical image processing

Andrew J. Berger

Berger, Andrew J.

Associate Professor of Optics
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering

ajberger@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 273-4724
405 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Medical Optics

David Borkholder

Borkholder, David

Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering; Associate Professor of Microsystems Engineering
david.borkholder@rit.edu | (585) 475-6067
Website

Interests: Biosensors, biomedical MEMs, medical devices, the auditory system, and treatment of auditory dysfunction

C


Patricia R. Batchelor Chess, M.D.

Chess, Patricia

Professor of Pediatrics, Neonatology; Professor of Biomedical Engineering
patricia_chess@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Effects of strain on pulmonary epithelium

Jason Condon

Condon, Jason

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Project Manager, CMC at Vaccinex, Inc
jasonrcondon@yahoo.com

Interests: Bioprocess engineering; Biopharmaceutical manufacturing; Biologics process development

Benjamin T. Crane, M.D., Ph.D.

Crane, Benjamin

Associate Professor of Otolaryngology; Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Associate Professor of Neurobiology and Anatomy
benjamin_crane@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: The interaction of vision, the vestibular system, and human disease on motion perception

D


David Dean

Dean, David

Professor of Pediatrics, Neonatology; Professor of Biomedical Engineering
david_dean@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Gene Therapy

Greg DeAngelis

DeAngelis, Greg

Professor of Brain & Cognitive Sciences, Biomedical Engineering, Neurobiology & Anatomy, Center for Navigation & Communication Sciences, and Center for Visual Science
gdeangelis@ur.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Visual neuroscience; Multi-sensory integration; Neural coding; Linking neurons to perception

Vikram S. Dogra, M.B.B.S.

Dogra, Vikram

Professor of Imaging Sciences; Professor of Biomedical Imaging; Professor of Urology
vikram_dogra@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Photoacoustic imaging for medical diagnosis ; Application of high resolution ultrasound for bladder tumor detection and follow-up; High intensity focused ultrasound (HIFU) for hemostasis

F


Thomas H. Foster, Ph.D.

Foster, Thomas

Professor of Imaging Sciences; Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Professor of Physics & Astronomy; Professor of Optics
thomas_foster@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Photodynamic Therapy of Cancer and Microbial Infections

G


Angela Glading, Ph.D.

Glading, Angela

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology and Physiology; Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
angela_glading@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Role of cell-cell contact in regulating cellular function in both the normal and disease state

H


Thomas M. Howard

Howard, Thomas

Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering; Assistant Professor of Computer Science; Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
thoward@ece.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3755
Website

Interests: Artificial Intelligence, Robotics, Machine Learning, Natural Language Understanding

Jennifer J. Hunter, Ph.D.

Hunter, Jennifer

Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology; Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Assistant Professor, Center for Visual Science
jhunter@cvs.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Mechanisms of light-induced retinal damage and development of non-invasive fluorescence imaging techniques

M


Luiz D. Meirelles, D.D.S., Ph.D.

Meirelles, Luiz, A. D.

Assistant Professor of Dentistry; Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
luiz_meirelles@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Dentistry

William H. Merigan, Ph.D.

Merigan, William

Professor of Ophthalmology
Professor, Center for Visual Science

billm@cvs.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Imaging the function of retinal neurons using calcium indicators; Evaluating vision restoration by optogenetics, stem cells or gene therapy

Benjamin L. Miller, Ph.D.

Miller, Benjamin

Professor of Dermatology; Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics
benjamin_miller@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Carbohydrate and protein recognition, molecular design, and biomolecular sensing

Nipa Mody

Mody, Nipa

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Senior Engineer at Ortho Clinical Diagnostics
nmody@its.jnj.com

N


Maiken Nedergaard, M.D., D.M.Sc.

Nedergaard, Maiken

Professor of Neurosurgery, Center for Translational Neuromedicine; Professor of Neurobiology and Anatomy; Professor of Neurology
nedergaard@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: The basic biology of glial cells in the CNS and the role of astrocytes in several neurological diseases, including stroke, spinal cord injury, epilepsy, tremor, and ALS. Research is aimed at defining new strategies for the treatment of neurological diseases that target astrocytic dysfunction

Ruola Ning, Ph.D.

Ning, Ruola

Professor of Imaging Sciences; Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
ruola_ning@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Research Radiology, CT Physics, Medical Imaging Systems

P


Photo unavailable

Papuga, Owen

Adjunct Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
owen_papuga@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Analysis of gait and balance, assessment of physical function outcome measures pre/post intervention, investigations of several aspects of low back pain

Tatiana Pasternak, Ph.D.

Pasternak, Tatiana

Professor of Neurobiology & Anatomy, Brain & Cognitive Sciences, Biomedical Engineering
tania@cvs.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Cortical circuitry underlying memory-guided sensory decisions

R


Deborah J. Rubens, M.D.

Rubens, Deborah

Professor of Imaging Sciences; Professor of Biomedical Engineering
deborah_rubens@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Ultrasound sonoelasticity; 3-dimensional imaging; Contrast agents

S


Michael C. Schell, Ph.D.

Schell, Michael

Professor of Radiation Oncology; Professor of Biomedical Engineering
michael_schell@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

W


Jiandi Wan

Wan, Jiandi

Assistant Professor of Microsystems Engineering
Assistant Professor of Center for Translational Neuromedicine

jdween@rit.edu
Website

Interests: Microfluidics; Red cell mechanosensing; tissue engineering; cerebral microcirculation; biofluid mechanics

Denham S. Ward, M.D., Ph.D.

Ward, Denham Salisbury

Professor Emeritus of Anesthesiology; Professor Emeritus of Biomedical Engineering
denham_ward@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Control of breathing

Z


Xinping Zhang, B.Med., Ph.D.

Zhang, Xinping

Associate Professor, Department of Orthopaedics, Center for Musculoskeletal Research
xinping_zhang@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-7928
Website

Interests: Understanding bone tissue repair using molecular, genetic, imaging and engineering approaches

Michael Zuscik

Zuscik, Michael

Associate Professor of Orthopaedics, Center for Musculoskeletal Research; Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
michael_zuscik@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Cartilage biology and osteoarthritis