Skip to main content

People

Graduate Faculty

 
Hani Awad

Awad, Hani

Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Professor of Orthopaedics

hani_awad@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 273-5268
1.8531 Medical Center
Website

Interests: Musculoskeletal Tissue Engineering

Danielle Benoit

Benoit, Danielle

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering
Center for Musculoskeletal Research
UR Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine Institute

benoit@bme.rochester.edu | (585) 273-2698
308 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Therapeutic Biomaterials

Andrew J. Berger

Berger, Andrew J.

Associate Professor of Optics
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering

ajberger@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 273-4724
405 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Medical Optics

Edward Brown III

Brown III, Edward

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
James P. Wilmot Cancer Center

edward_brown@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 273-5918
5-7224A Medical Center
Website

Interests: Multiphoton Laser Scanning Microscopy, novel in vivo imaging and measurement techniques, tumor biology, angiogenesis

Mark Buckley

Buckley, Mark

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering
mark.buckley@rochester.edu | (585) 276-4195
Website

Interests: Viscoelasticity in soft biological tissues; Soft tissue aging, disease and repair

Laurel H. Carney

Carney, Laurel H.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Professor of Neurobiology and Anatomy
Center for Navigation and Communication Sciences

laurel.carney@rochester.edu | (585) 276-3948
Medical Center
Website

Interests: Auditory neuroscience; Neurophysiological, behavioral, and computational studies of hearing; Signal processing for hearing aids

Regine Choe

Choe, Regine

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
regine_choe@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 273-4374
MC 5-7233A Med Center
Website

Interests: Diffuse optics for in vivo cancer detection, diagnosis and therapy monitoring

Profile Image

Clark, Robert

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Provost, and Senior Vice President for Research

rclark@rochester.edu | (585) 275-4151
309 Lattimore Hall

Interests: Dynamic systems; Measurement and control; Single-molecule mechanics; Bio-nano-manufacturing; Scaffolds for tissue engineering

Diane Dalecki

Dalecki, Diane

Chair, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Distinguished Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Director, Rochester Center for Biomedical Ultrasound

diane.dalecki@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7378
210A Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Biomedical ultrasound, acoustics, lithotripsy, biological effects of ultrasound.

Faculty Profile Photo

DeLouise, Lisa A.

Associate Professor of Dermatology;
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Associate Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering

lisa_delouise@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-1810
Website

Interests: Engineering Smart Bandage Bio Nanomaterials for Healing Skin

Ian Dickerson

Dickerson, Ian

Associate Professor of Neuroscience
Associate Professor of Pharmacology and Physiology

Ian_Dickerson@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Carbon Nanotube-Mediated Gene Transfer; Neuropeptide Signal Transduction; Protein-Protein Interactions

Marvin Doyley

Doyley, Marvin

Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering

m.doyley@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3774
333 Hopeman Engineering Building
Website

Interests: Therapeutic and diagnostic imaging using optical, magnetic resonance, and ultrasound imaging

Greg T. Gdowski

Gdowski, Greg T.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Executive Director, Center for Medical Technology & Innovation

ggdowski@ur.rochester.edu | (585) 275-2580
310 Robert B. Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Teaching Area — The process of commercialization of medical technologies from identifying unmet clinical needs to the design, fabrication, marketing, regulatory, and intellectual property aspects of creating medical technologies and devices

Sheryl M. Gracewski

Gracewski, Sheryl M.

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering

sheryl.gracewski@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7853
217 Hopeman Hall

Interests: Solid mechanics, more specifically in wave propagation and vibrations in elastic media; Bubble dynamics; Optics manufacturing and metrology

Denise C. Hocking, Ph.D.

Hocking, Denise

Professor of Pharmacology and Physiology; Professor of Biomedical Engineering
denise_hocking@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Regulation of cell behavior by the extracellular matrix

Catherine K. Kuo

Kuo, Catherine K.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Associate Professor of Orthopaedics
Center for Musculoskeletal Research
Genetics, Development and Stem Cells Program
Materials Science Graduate Program

Catherine.K.Kuo@rochester.edu | (585) 275-2312
215 Robert B. Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Tissue engineering ; Orthopaedics; Stem cells; Developmental biology ; Mechanobiology ; Biomaterials

Profile photo

Lalor, Edmund

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Associate Professor of Neuroscience
Edmund_Lalor@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3077
G9609 SMD (Dept. of Neuroscience)
Website

Interests: Human sensory neurophysiology; Brain-computer interfacing; Computational neuroscience; Neural encoding of natural sounds; Sensory processing in psychiatric and developmental disorders

Amy L. Lerner

Lerner, Amy L.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Academic Director, Center for Medical Technology & Innovation
amy.lerner@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7847
307 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Orthopaedic biomechanics, medical image-based finite element modeling, knee biomechanics, medical device design, cornea mechanics

Anne E. Luebke

Luebke, Anne E.

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Associate Professor of Neurobiology and Anatomy
anne_luebke@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 273-1635
6-8547 Medical Center
Website

Interests: Role of cochlear outer hair cells in hearing and hearing loss, at both the molecular and systems levels

Ross Maddox

Maddox, Ross

Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Assistant Professor of Neuroscience
ross.maddox@rochester.edu | (585) 275-1835
G9607 SMD (Dept. of Neuroscience)
Website

Interests: Auditory neuroscience; Audio-visual integration; Selective attention; Development of electroencephalography paradigms for research and diagnosis

Stephen McAleavey

McAleavey, Stephen

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Rochester Center for Biomedical Ultrasound

stephen.mcaleavey@rochester.edu | (585) 275-7768
309 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Development of novel, clinically applicable ultrasound imaging techniques

James McGrath

McGrath, James

Professor of Biomedical Engineering
james.mcgrath@rochester.edu | (585) 273-5489
306 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Cell motility; Quantitative light microscopy

Benjamin L. Miller, Ph.D.

Miller, Benjamin

Professor of Dermatology; Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics
benjamin_miller@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Carbohydrate and protein recognition, molecular design, and biomolecular sensing

Duncan T. Moore

Moore, Duncan T.

Rudolf and Hilda Kingslake Professor in Optical Engineering Science
Professor of Optics
Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Professor of Business Administration in the William E. Simon Graduate School of Business Administration

moore@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-5248
409A Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Optical Engineering; Lens Design & Manufacturing; Gradient-Index Optics

Jong-Hoon Nam

Nam, Jong-Hoon

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
jong-hoon.nam@rochester.edu | (585) 273-4555
212 Hopeman
Website

Interests: Biophysics of inner ear sensory cells; Cell mechanics

Gary D. Paige, M.D., Ph.D.

Paige, Gary

Professor of Neurobiology and Anatomy; Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Professor of Neurology, Cognitive Behavioral Neurology; Professor of Ophthalmology
gary_paige@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Visual, vestibular, and adaptive control of spatial orientation and balance

Kevin J. Parker

Parker, Kevin J.

William F. May Professor of Engineering
Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, of Biomedical Engineering, and of Imaging Sciences (Radiology)

Dean Emeritus, School of Engineering & Applied Sciences
kevin.parker@rochester.edu | (585) 275-3294
203 Hopeman Engineering Building
Website

Interests: Medical Imaging; 3D and 4D Imaging; CT, MRI, and ultrasound; Multi-dimensional processing and display techniques; Doppler Imaging Techniques; Sonoelasticity; Digital Halftoning; Blue Noise Mask ; Color Halftoning

Renato Perucchio

Perucchio, Renato

Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Program Director, Archaeology, Technology, and Historical Structures

rlp@me.rochester.edu | (585) 275-4069
415 Hopeman Hall

Interests: Computational solid and structural mechanics; Engineering practices in Classical Antiquity

J Edward Puzas, Ph.D.

Puzas, J. Edward

Professor of Orthopaedics, Center for Musculoskeletal Research; Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics; Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Professor of Environmental Medicine
edward_puzas@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Molecular and Cellular Biology of the Skeletal System

Jannick Rolland

Rolland, Jannick

Brian J. Thompson Professor of Optical Engineering
Professor of Optics and Biomedical Engineering
Professor in the Center for Visual Science

Director for R.E. Hopkins Center for Optical Design & Engineering
Director for NSF/IUCRC: Center for Freeform Optics

rolland@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 273-4040
505 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Optical System Design; Instrumentation and System Engineering; Optical Coherence Tomography; Head Worn Displays

Ingrid H. Sarelius, Ph.D.

Sarelius, Ingrid

Professor of Pharmacology and Physiology; Professor of Biomedical Engineering
ingrid_sarelius@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Vascular cell communication and signaling

Marc H. Schieber, M.D., Ph.D.

Schieber, Marc H.

Professor of Neurology; Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Professor of Neurobiology and Anatomy; Professor of Brain/Cognitive Sciences; Professor, Center for Visual Science
mhs@cvs.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Neural Control of Individuated Finger Movements

Edward M. Schwarz, Ph.D.

Schwarz, Edward

Professor of Orthopaedics; Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Professor of Medicine, Allergy/Immunology and Rheumatology; Professor of Microbiology and Immunology; Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine; Professor of Urology
edward_schwarz@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Pro-inflammatory cytokine signal transduction and novel drug and gene therapies for Rheumatoid Arthritis

Scott Seidman

Seidman, Scott

Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering
Associate Professor of Neurobiology and Anatomy
Center for Visual Science

scott_seidman@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 273-2122
6-8543 Medical Center
Website

Interests: Vestibular systems, motor learning, physiological models, multi-sensory integration

Richard E. Waugh

Waugh, Richard E.

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Professor of Biochemistry & Biophysics; Professor of Pharmacology & Physiology
waugh@bme.rochester.edu | (585) 275-3768
218 Robert B. Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Cell Adhesion, Mechanical and thermodynamic properties of biological membranes; cellular mechanics and function of cytoskeletal proteins

David R. Williams

Williams, David R.

William G. Allyn Professor of Medical Optics
Professor of Optics
Professor of Brain and Cognitive Sciences
Professor of Ophthalmology
Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Dean for Research in Arts, Sciences and Engineering
Director of the Center for Visual Science

david@cvs.rochester.edu | (585) 275-8672
270 Meliora Hall
Website

Interests: The Human Visual System; Physiological Optics

Axel Wismueller

Wismueller, Axel

Professor of Imaging Sciences, of Biomedical Engineering, and of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Axel_Wismueller@urmc.rochester.edu | (585) 613-2399
MCA 2-2214 Medical Center
Website

Interests: Mathematical algorithms for computational analysis; Pattern recognition in clinical real-world applications

David Wu

Wu, J.H. David

Professor of Chemical Engineering; Professor of Biomedical Engineering
j.wu@rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Biochemical Engineering, Fermentation, Biocatalysis, Bone Marrow Tissue Engineering, Molecular Biology

Geunyoung Yoon

Yoon, Geunyoung

Professor of Ophthalmology, Optics, Center for Visual science and Biomedical Engineering
gyoon@ur.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Customized vision correction using advanced optical techniques such as wavefront sensor, customized optics and laser refractive surgery

James M. Zavislan

Zavislan, James M.

Associate Professor of Optics
Associate Professor of Dermatology
Associate Professor of Ophthalmology
Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Associate Dean of Education and New Initiatives
zavislan@optics.rochester.edu | (585) 275-9819
416 Goergen Hall
Website

Interests: Optical Engineering; Biomedical Optical Systems

Jianhui Zhong, Ph.D.

Zhong, Jianhui

Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Professor of Imaging Sciences; Professor of Physics & Astronomy
jianhui_zhong@urmc.rochester.edu
Website

Interests: Development and medical application of magnetic resonance imaging